Hatemail #1 “Your stupid Little Mermaid Rant”

From: ********r@aol.com
Date: Mon, Jan 21, 2013 at 8:30 AM
Subject: Your stupid Little Mermaid Rant
To: thedlrage@gmail.com

Dear Daniel,

Up to this point I have enjoyed your show, but violence against women is where the line is drawn for me. It’s not funny to depict bludgeoning a woman with a metal object, even if it’s just a cartoon and only a joke. It’s one thing to have a sense of humor about Disney characters, and the Disney parks. On the whole I like what you have to say, but what you did regarding The Little Mermaid is disrespectful to women and unacceptable. I am disghusted by it. I don’t want to hear anything you have to say any more. 

Sincerely, 
A Former Listner

My Reply:

That’s quite all right. I don’t want to hear anything you have to say either…. and I’m not Daniel.

One thought on “Hatemail #1 “Your stupid Little Mermaid Rant”

  1. The former “Listner” should have remembered 1) The Little Mermaid was a fish, not a woman 2) In a world where women are now rightly increasingly treated as the equals they are(including now going to army front lines), mermaids shouldn’t be treated like inferior fragile glass dolls that can’t be made fun of.

    I admit to eating fish at the Living Seas pavilion at Epcot, and would try mermaid if it was real and on the menu. I’d just make sure it was de-veined since I know what that black/brown line in the mermaid meat probably is.

Leave a Reply

