Why I Left The DisGeek Podcast and Started DLRage

When I was co-host of the DisGeek Podcast, people enjoyed the show. People enjoyed the way I expressed myself and my tough love approach to discussing Disneyland.

I speak my mind and I don’t necessarily go seeking out the approval of others. I’m a take it or leave it kind of guy. Now to many people, saying “I speak my mind” is another way of saying “I’m content to be a douche bag and don’t care what you think.” That’s not it.

It bothers me when someone chooses to take me too seriously, to take offense where none is intended rather than just laugh it off, shrug and move on. Anyone with a brain can listen to how I say things and surmise that I’m not trying to insult anyone. I talk how I talk is all. If it entertains you, great. If it doesn’t, yeah it irks me a little, but I choose to place my thoughts on the people who like me.

To some people, people who are not in the majority, choose to take my use of (censored/beeped) expletives as an offense against their deity, Walt Disney. Why? The podcast is about Disneyland, right? How dare I curse? Never mind that it’s all bleeped out! A kid could be listening!

I have gotten good feedback from fans of the DisGeek Podcast, but look, this is the internet. There are people who love the DisGeek Podcast, but we never really received e-mails and Facebook messages telling us how great we were, at least not while I was there. In my short experience as a podcaster, you’re lucky if someone bothers to write a review, but fan mail? Fuggetaboudit.

Hate mail , on the other hand… When someone is pissed, it’s the internet. People who don’t have to stand in front of me and talk their s(beep)t, talk a lot of it. Now if they were standing in front of me, they wouldn’t say a thing. This is why I have zero respect for hate mailers.

Anyway, while I was co-hosting the Disgeek Podcast, I would get messages telling me I was either too stupid because I didn’t know every nook and cranny of Disneyland Resort (and I still don’t), or I was just a jerk trying to shock people like Howard Stern. Who cares that what I said was bleeped?

Paul Barrie Himself (Window to the Magic Podcast) <Insert Angelic Music> came right onto Disgeek’s Facebook page, and called me “a potty-mouth,” and suggested that The DisGeek Podcast should be listed as “explicit” on iTunes. Really? Beeped out curse words is what he calls explicit? What would he call it without the beeps? Terrorism?

I was also under pressure. My wife was pregnant and I’m a starving writer who is spending all of his time at Disneyland, taking pictures for the blog, posting little games for our readers/listeners, being told to write reviews for Sorcerer Radio or something or other when I should be working. I was beginning to resent it. To this day, I never got a “thank you” for all of that.

The Disgeek Podcast was just becoming too serious, there was too much drama over it, and it never was that important to me. As soon as an unpaid activity becomes a “haft ta” and not a “want ta”, it’s time to go. So I left.

I don’t regret the decision, but here’s what I learned in the interim. I find podcasting very fulfilling and fun. I’ve come to realize that Disneyland/World fans, Disneyland/World podcasters are generally good people. They are generally very nice people, and happy people. They are the kind of people I want to get to know and, with my whole heart, be friends with (except Micechat, lol). I want to have this kind of positivity around me, and my son. Yes, I even believe that while Paul Barrie did overstep the mark, he has earned some hero-worship from the rest of us, and truly does care about my brother’s show and has nothing but good intentions.

The Disneyland/World Podcasting community, is just that, a community. We all stick up for each other, and help each other and learn from each other. This is something I want in my life.

I appealed to Daniel, more than once, that I’d like to return to the DisGeek Podcast. But the truth is, it’s not the same show anymore, and nothing will bring back those great early episodes when it was just me, Daniel and Tommy Allison. Now it’s their show, and Daniel has it the way he wants it. And with three co-hosts, one more is too many cooks in the kitchen.

I am flattered and thankful for the e-mails I’ve received asking me to return to Daniel’s show, which is what started the wheels turning about starting my own.

And here we are; a new year and a new Disneyland Podcast. And don’t go thinking that there is animosity and competition between DLRage and DisGeek.

When I told Daniel I wanted to do my own show, I expected a lukewarm reaction, but what I got instead was an enthusiastic blessing. Just today, Daniel brought me his spare microphone, and tutored me on using the sound-editing software, and gave me these words of encouragement:

“Just start recording. Don’t worry about your website, or your Facebook and stuff, just go, before you change your mind.”

So, here I go…

6 thoughts on “Why I Left The DisGeek Podcast and Started DLRage

  1. Congratulations on the new show and blog Paul! Looking forward to your contributions, insights and some rages about Disneyland!

  2. Congratulations on your new chapter … Enjoyed tuning in to hear your point of view on DisGeek and looking forward to your own brand on DLRage. (bleeep) what those people were saying! … Now I’ve got another great podcast to look forward to!

  3. New listener to your podcast. Glad there is another alternative DL perspective. Glad you picked up Laura from Sweep Spot too!

Leave a Reply

